Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

General Info

Passenger Services


News & Updates

Vigilance Portal

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
71st All India Railway Football Championship inaugurated

71st All India Railway Football Championship inaugurated

 29th October, 2014, Maligaon:The league phase of the 71st All India Railway Football Championship was inaugurated today at the NFRSA complex, Maligaon in presence of large gathering of sports enthusiasts. General Manager, N.F.Railway Sri R.S.Virdi was Chief Guest of the opening ceremony. The championship which started today will continue till 9th November, 2014. Matches are being played both at the Maligaon and the Pandu football stadium. All together 10(ten) teams from various zones viz. Central Railway from Mumbai, Northern Railway from Delhi, South Eastern Railway from Kolkata, South Central from Secunderabad, East Central Railway from Hajipur, East Coast Railway from Bhubaneswar, North Central Railway from Allahabad, West Central Railway from Jabalpur, Metro Railway from Kolkata apart from host Northeast Frontier Railway are participating in the championship.

16 international players and 11 National players will be seen in action. The Northeast Frontier Railway team which is the reigning Inter-Railway Champion has five players who represented the Indian Railways Football team which was Runners-up in the Santosh Trophy 2013-14 at Siliguri. They are (1) Chayaram Basumatary, (2) Rajib Boro, (3) Sibra Narzary, (4) Jelendra Brahma and (5) Y.Raju Singh.

In the opening match of the tournament, hosts and reigning champions N.F.Railway (NFR) beat West Central Railway (WCR), Jabalpur by 4 – 1. The scorers for N.F.Railway were Sashanka Chanda - 2 goals, Sibra Narzary & Bappa Biswas 1 goal each and Abinash Thapa scored the lone goal for WCR.

(Pranav Jyoti Sharma)

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.